Comedy triumphs at the Feroz 2022 with El Buen Patron and Venga Juan

Javier Bardem, Petra Martínez, Aitana Sánchez-Gijón and Urko Olazábal are chosen as best film actors and Javier Cámara, María Pujalte and Enric Auquer win the Feroz Awards in the series categories

The Feroz Awards 2022 have been delivered on the night of January 29 at the Zaragoza Auditorium, in a gala full of humor presented by the film director Nacho Vigalondo and the comic Paula Spike and with a script and direction by Pilar de Francisco and Borja Sumozas, which has been attended by a very long list of Spanish film and series stars.

The Feroz awards in the film categories have been widely distributed, with ‘Mayabel’by Icíar Bollaín for best dramatic film and ‘The good boss’, by Fernando León de Aranoa as best comedy. The protagonist of it, Javier Bardem, has collected his first Feroz, as well as León de Aranoa himself in the category of best screenplay. On the other hand, the award for best director went to Rodrigo Cortés with the film ‘Love in its place’.

The rest of the acting prizes have been distributed to Petra Martínez for ‘Life was that’Urko Olazabal by ‘Mayabel’ and Aitana Sánchez-Gijón for ‘Parallel mothers’. Pedro Almodóvar’s film has also won the statuettes for best original music (Alberto Iglesias) and best poster (Javier Jaén). Finally, the prize Fierce Cinetools the best trailer has gone to ‘The grandmother’, work of Miguel Ángel Trudu, who thus achieves his third ferocious.

Also in the series categories, a comedy has accumulated the most statuettes: ‘Come on John’ by Diego San José, has garnered the awards for best comedy series, leading actor (Javier Cámara) and supporting actress (María Pujalte). Meanwhile, Ana Rujas has added two ferocious: best series and best leading actress for ‘Thistle’. The sextet is completed by Enric Auquer, who has been chosen for the second time best supporting actor in a series for ‘Perfect life’which is his third statuette in just three years.

Javier Camara
Javier Cámara Feroz Award for best actor television series. Credit Cordon Press

In this edition, in addition, the Feroz Outburst Awards for fiction and non-fiction, which replace the Special Award and Best Documentary, with which we want to distinguish those works that deserve recognition for their special artistic achievements and/or innovative contributions in their respective fields. The winners have been ‘holy spirit’by Chema García Ibarra in the case of fiction, and ‘sediments’, by Adrián Silvestre in the non-fiction section.

During the gala, the filmmakers Paula Ortiz, Pilar Palomero, Leticia Dolera, Neus Ballús, Ainhoa ​​Rodríguez and Júlia de Paz Solvas presented the Feroz Honor Award to Cecilia Bartolomé, one of the most transgressive figures that Spanish cinema has produced. The AICE awarded him the award “for his avant-garde commitment to cinema, innovating in his films and subverting female roles; for her commitment to cinema and society and for leaving in her films one of the most complete portraits of the Transition and the last decades of the dictatorship; and for being a reference for many women who years later studied cinema and dedicated themselves to that same profession that cost so much to a pioneer like her”.

In her speech, María Guerra, the president of the Association of Cinematographic Reporters of Spainorganizer of the Feroz Awards, has thanked Zaragoza “your hospitality” and has highlighted the coincidence at the same presidential table «from the mayor of Zaragoza, Jorge Azcón, from the PP; Deputy Mayor Sara Fernández, from Ciudadanos; the Minister of Culture, Miquel Iceta, of the PSOE; and the Second Vice President and Minister of Labor, Yolanda Díaz, from United We Can». “Frankly”has underlined «This does not happen every day and certainly not at a film gala: thank you for being here and showing that you care about the Spanish audiovisual, that you believe in its economic, labor and social dimension and that your commitment is firm and truly transcends . That you believe in culture in all its dimensions”.

In addition, María Guerra has recalled that the Feroz Awards are a gala “with another look”and with a vocation «discover other voices that circulate outside the highway of the ‘mainstream’. But he has also sent a message to the audiovisual industry: «Culture journalists are not just another piece in the promotion gear, we do not make announcements»and added that “Good communication between the press and the cinema is also a gesture of respect towards the citizens who, as we see tonight, are very interested in your work”. «Aúpa for the public and for those who lend a real shoulder»it is finished.

The Feroz 2022 Awards are organized by the Association of Cinematographic Reporters of Spain and they have the Zaragoza City Council as the main sponsor. In addition, they are sponsored by the Designation of Origin Ribera del Duero, Cotril and Cinetools and with the support of the Institute of Cinematography and Audiovisual Arts (ICAA) of the Ministry of Culture and Sports.

The AICE is a plural group of more than 230 journalists and critics dedicated to reporting on cinema on television, radio, press and the Internet throughout the country. Since 2014 they deliver the FEROZ® AWARDS to highlight the best of Spanish audiovisual production of the year.