Soul Hackers Countdown Website May Tease Sequel, Remake, or Reboot

Atlus, the Japan-based developer behind the Persona series, is teasing a new project in the Soul Hackers series with a mysterious countdown website. The studio also opened an official Twitter account for the project, with an ominous bio predicting the “end of humanity”. The countdown website is ticking down to a specific date in the next few days and includes a banner stating that a “hack will begin” on February 17, 2022 at 8pm JST (3am PST/11am CEST).

When does the Soul Hackers countdown end?

The time and date of “Hack Begins” probably indicates a small disclosure, possibly related to the nature of the project itself. Separately, the main countdown timer indicates that there will be a big reveal in four days, on February 21, 2022, at 8 p.m. JST. At the time of writing, there isn’t much to go by on the website itself apart from what appears to be a small polygonal plant and a loading screen that reads “analysis in progress”.

Chances are the new project will be related to the Devil Summoner: Soul Hackers game released in 1997. Atlus later brought the game to the PlayStation in 1999. Part of the Megami Tensei series, the game was a sequel to the original 1995 Devil Summoner for the Sega Saturn. Since then, the title has also been re-released on the PSP, but hasn’t been released since 2013.

At the end of 2021, Atlus announced that it would release a new game in 2022. In a year-end interview, Atlus producer Shinjiro Takada stated that the game would be a new “pillar” for the company. If so, this new Soul Hackers project just might be the next big game series to tease Takada.

In other news, an HBO executive has revealed that the live-action series The Last of Us won’t be released until 2023. An Electronic Arts executive also stated that Battlefield 2042’s commercial failure was the result of the surprise launch of Halo Endless.